Reflections on a Unique Pitch

I wish I learned how to throw a knuckleball
Maybe I would’ve been a major leaguer
Like Brando, I could’ve been somebody

Never the fastest
Never the strongest
Athleticism was not part of my DNA
So the knuckleball was created for people like me
It ignores speed and laughs at radar guns
Fireballers need not apply
This pitch is only for magicians

It made long careers; saved some too
Less wear and tear; a blessing for training staff

I think of all the pitchers who spent hours throwing it
Artists in the out-door studio perfecting their craft
I think of all the roads R.A. Dickey traveled, while clutching a baseball with his finger nails
One specific pitch,
Becoming your friend
Defining your career
Leading you to bigger platforms

I find myself on a ball field
Throwing for hours at a rusted fence
Silly activity for a man my age
But I just have to know

Was this my ticket?

Eric aka @TheHek

Explore posts in the same categories: Baseball Poetry Project

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

